CHOCK FULL OF STARRY GOODNESS…

Could Jake Gyllenhaal Be Kurt Cobain?

Jake Gyllenhaal, star of blockbuster hits such as Brokeback Mountain, The Good Girl and the upcoming Prince of Persia: Sands of Time told NME.com in a recent interview that he would be happy to grow out and bleach his hair to play the late Nirvana frontman, Kurt Cobain, in the upcoming biopic.

In the interview, he tells NME.com :I don’t know if I’d be the right choice. But the hair from Prince of Persia could translate somehow. We could just bleach it.”

Gemma Arterton, Jake’s costar in POP, disagrees. She said “I actually read a script recently, which was amazing. Someone needs to play Kurt Cobain. I don’t know, maybe they should find someone new. Because when your playing an iconic character, when you get someone really famous to play them, sometimes your just watching a famous person play someone else and it’s nice when it’s a completely new person.”

There have been a few stars linked to the still unnamed project recently, though nothing has been confirmed. Just a few of the names that have come up have included Iron Man 2’s Scarlett Johansson and international hotties James McAvoy  and Robert Pattinson.

Cobain’s widow, Courtney Love, almost immediately vetoed the idea of Pattinson playing the troubled icon, saying “Isn’t that so stupid, who would cast him? That’s just wrong, no offense. I watched the Twilight stuff very, very recently and I get it, it resonates with the teenage girl in me, I understand epic love of that nature; I write about it all the time. But isn’t that silly?”

One response

  1. Jennifer

    I think that Jake Gyllenhaal is awesome, but I just don’t see him as Kurt Cobain! Same as Robert Pattinson…hot, but I just do see it. I can’t wait to see who they pick!

    June 7, 2010 at 9:37 pm

Leave a Reply

