CHOCK FULL OF STARRY GOODNESS…

Bryce Dallas Howard Opens Up About Postpartum Depression

Bryce Dallas Howard, who starred in Twilight Saga: Eclipse as Edward Cullen’s nemesis, Victoria, has opened up for the first time ever about her struggle with severe postpartum depression following the birth of her son, Theo, in 2007.

“Before Theo was born, I had been in good humor about my 80-pound weight gain, but I was now mortified by it,” Howard explained on Gwyneth Paltrow’s blog. “I felt I was failing at breast feeding. My house was a mess. I believed I was a terrible dog owner. I was certain I was an awful actress.”

Bryce went on to add, “I definitely felt I was a rotten mother-not a bad one, a rotten one. Because the truth was, every time I looked at my son, I wanted to disappear.”

She kept her feelings and her sadness to herself, not even confiding in her husband, Seth Gabel, for awhile. She describes her outbursts towards him saying “I screamed expletives at him, behavior he had never experienced in the seven years we had been together.”

Luckily, Howard had the support she needed from her loved ones to seek professional help where she was diagnosed with severe postpartum depression. She read Down Came the Rain by Brooke Shields and describes it as “a revelation”.

Since then, the scarlet haired starlet is happier than ever and her son, Theo is now 3 1/2 years old.

Bryce describes a friends mention of her shift, writing, “He looked at me and without skipping a beat he said, “My friend is back.”

Bryce Dallas Howard has many projects in the work for the future, so keep checking back in with Celebstalk!

One response

  1. Pingback: Mental Disorders 101

Leave a Reply

