CHOCK FULL OF STARRY GOODNESS…

Jodie Foster Vows to Stand By Her Mel

Despite the rest of Hollywood seemingly turning their back on Mel Gibson, Jodie Foster says she will continue to stand by her friend.

In a recent interview the actress recently did with More magazine, she spoke up again about her feelings for her close pal, Mel, stating that he was the “easiest, nicest person I’ve ever worked with…The second I met him, I said, ‘I will love this man for the rest of my life.'”

The two worked together on the film Maverick back in 1993 and just finished their second collaboration, The Beaver, which Jodie also directed.

“When you love a friend, you don’t abandon them when they are struggling,” Jodie told More. “Of course, Mel is an undeniably gifted actor and director and ‘The Beaver’ is one of his most powerful and moving performances. But more importantly, he is and has been a true and loyal friend. I hope I can help him get through this dark moment.”

Back in 2006 when Gibson was accused of making anti-Semitic remarks by his arresting police officer when he was caught driving under the influence, Jodie stood by him then, too.

“Mel is honest, loyal, kind, but alcoholism has been a lifelong struggle for him and his family,” she said back then. “I just wish I had been there, that I had been able to say, ‘Don’t do it, don’t take that drink.'”

So what do you think about Jodie standing up for Mel Gibson again, Celebstalkers?

One response

  1. nice post. thanks.

    October 2, 2010 at 1:51 am

Leave a Reply

